Anti-Mercantilism in One Simple Snark

From a commenter at Cafe Hayek:

I sold my house, my cars, all my clothes, my furniture, my appliances, all the food in my cupboards, my stocks, and every single thing I own, except the smartphone I am using to type this comment.

Now I am sitting naked on a park bench with a big bag of money, thinking about how wealthy I have made myself with my huge trade surplus.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anti-Mercantilism in One Simple Snark

  1. James K says:

    Yeah, that’ll do it :)

    The purpose of goods is not to sell for money, the purpose of money is to buy goods.

  2. James Hanley says:

    The purpose of goods is not to sell for money

    Or, the purpose of goods is to exchange for other goods.

  3. Matty says:

    Funnily enough there is a certain kind of comentator, you know the people I mean, who would see ‘only looking at cash value’ as a flaw of all economists.

    I’m shallowly ignorant of economics myself but I hope that I have the sense not to conclude that because I don’t know something I can fill the gap with unfounded assumptions.

  4. D. C. Sessions says:

    Economic systems don’t always capture human perceptions of “value.” You can, if you like, consider this a market failure. However, very few markets efficiently capture the value of the time you spent reading to your daughter at bedtime.

  5. James Hanley says:

    D.C.,

    True, but we can treat that as having cash value by considering your opportunity costs. You could be making money instead of reading to your daughter, you know. But apparently you’re less interested in being economically productive than you are in enjoying some personal time bonding with your kids. That’s why Ayn Rand hates you.

Comments are closed.