Farewell, JsubD

I have just found out from D.A. Ridgely that JsubD, a frequent commenter on libertarian blogs, including Positive Liberty, where I became friends and collaborators with D.A., Jason Kuznicki, John Rowe and Jim Babka, has died.

His loss is felt by many of us, including D.A., Jesse Walker, Jennifer Abel, Radley Balko, Dr. Thoreau,
even though we never had the opportunity to meet him. Detroit Free Press writer Mitch Albom wrote his obituary, primarily as a curiosity piece about a veteran who died homeless and with no one to claim him. We can only hope that his on-going contacts with his virtual friends provided some comfort in the days he knew he was dying.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Farewell, JsubD

  1. Jennifer says:

    I wish the newspaper guy knew about his online life. He wasn’t “just” another homeless veteran with issues; he was witty, insightful, funny, and infuriated at the thought of injustice inflicted on another.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oh, and thank you for the link, but I am annoyed to report that on this OF ALL DAYS, Blogger software decided to bite the dust; so far as my blog is concerned, the last 30 hours or so never happened. So the second post of mine you linked to — the J-sub update — is gone and I dunno when or if it is coming back. The first post is still there, but the updates I made to it are gone: the information on how to donate to the funeral home, the collection of links to the other J-sub memorial sites. I altered my first post because I was getting hits from people looking for “John Hannah,” and I wanted them to get to know “J sub D” too, if they wanted, but unless and until the blog software gets back up to par, I can’t. And all those lovely comments left by people who remember and admired J-sub are also gone.

  3. AMW says:

    It’s been a long time since I read a comment from JsubD, but I remember him. Too bad he didn’t follow Hanley to his latest digs.

    May he rest in peace.

  4. AMW says:

    James, I don’t mean to pry or anything, but did someone know JsubD by name? Is that how you are aware that he’s the man in the obituary?

  5. AMW says:

    Strike the above. I just read Ridgely’s post.

  6. Jennifer says:

    He was a good man, and I hope those who only knew him as John Hannah took some comfort in learning how respected J sub D was, and how widely he is mourned.

Comments are closed.