Reducing the Value of My Investment

I teach some on-line classes for a community college, generally two per term. The upfront costs were pretty steep–learning how to use the software, writing up on-line lectures and quizzes, etc. Everything takes long in the course software than it does for a regular class, just using MSWord (or, for my lectures, just having a rough outline of notes). The first term didn’t really pay enough to be worth it, but the big payoff comes in the following terms when very little work has to be done. Unless I change the text (or it changes substantially), the only “capital” costs are changing the due dates for items. And I’ve learned how to structure the course so my “operating” costs are pretty low.

Then they changed the course software on me. I’ve spent at least one week of full-time work, perhaps more, training on the new software and transferring everything over. So this term I’m back to just recouping my capital costs.

Dammit.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in It's Just Business. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reducing the Value of My Investment

  1. Jon Rowe says:

    That’s what I’m dealing with. I use HTLM that my college sometimes copies PDF for me. I wish they had blogger/wordpress like software so that when I see a typo or want to change something I can press a button and the editor comes up. But instead I have to save the original document and reupload it.

  2. James Hanley says:

    ppnl,

    Thanks! You have no idea just how appropriate that comic is. My college bought some new software last year that has everyone tearing their hair out. But we’re assured all the bugs will be worked out soon, and of course we all believe it.

Comments are closed.