Rites of Passage

For the past several years I’ve bought a six-pack of beer and a bucketload of fireworks at the grocery store and amused my friends and family on Independence Day. Having arrived home from a two-week trip just hours before dark on July 4 this year, the bucketload was much smaller, and the only observer besides the wife and kids was my neighbor, who also got one of my beers. This year, though, I had the 13 year old make the shift from observer to actor, not only helping to set up the fireworks but light them off. I think she got a kick out of it, and it was one of those small but meaningful moments that help a kid move from childhood to adulthood. No beer, though. Not that I’d mind if she had a sip, but the state objects to it and she doesn’t seem interested…yet.

Happy independence and freedom to all.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rites of Passage

  1. James K says:

    No beer, though. Not that I’d mind if she had a sip, but the state objects to it and she doesn’t seem interested…yet.

    Ah yes, I’d forgotten you have a drinking age, and not just a purchasing age.

    Happy 4th of July you Americans. Go declare independence from something!

  2. AMW says:

    You think your daughter could get in trouble for accepting a few sips of beer from her dad? I highly doubt it.

    All of my children (from the 7 year old to the 17 month old) have been given a sip of wine at our house. And all of them have hated it and refused all subsequent offers.

  3. AMW says:

    Oh, and welcome home!

Comments are closed.