What Support for Same-Sex Marriage Looks Like

From one of my student’s papers:*

As I went through middle school and high school, I often had suspicions of my peers being homosexual but I always found reasons not to believe it because I thought it was such a horrible thing because of my strong Christian faith and how I was raised within the church and family. …

It was not until a few years ago when I met my sister’s future brother in law that I began to understand that there is nothing different about homosexuals, but that they simply have a different sexual preference than I do… When I first met him I had no idea, nor did I see him any differently. I just simply thought he was a shy, extremely smart kid. He appeared to me to be just a regular straight guy. He is a regular guy, minus the straight part, and I see him as no different than anyone else in the family.

Amen.

______________________________________________________________
* I will keep the student anonymous to protect privacy.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Politics in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Support for Same-Sex Marriage Looks Like

  1. My sister and her partner have been together for over 30 years (although there was one year where they had a bad patch and were separated). Despite this, I was quite homophobic as a child and even into my early 20s, but knowing them has been one of the things that led me to become (I hope) more accepting.

Comments are closed.