Homeopathic Libertarianism?

If I was a libertarian political candidate struggling for votes I’d target the left-wing homeopath crowd. I’d just tell them that the less government there is, the more powerful it will be.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Analyzing Libertarianism. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homeopathic Libertarianism?

  1. Scott Hanley says:

    Could be. I keep hearing that Libya has almost no government bureaucracy and look how free they were.

  2. AMW says:

    Did you hear about the homeopathic patient who overdosed? He forgot to take his pills.

  3. Do we know that homeopathic medicine is a left-wing issue, or are we just assuming that because the left is nutty?

  4. James Hanley says:

    Christopher–Good question. I was just going on my own personal experience. Homeopathy was fairly popular in Eugene, Oregon, among it’s very lefty inhabitants. I haven’t seen it pushed by right-wingers, but I have to confess that my sample is somewhat less than random.

    AMW–You win.

  5. ppnl says:

    I think the left wing acceptance of alternative medicine is driven by anti-corporatist leanings. OTOH laws exempting some alternative practices from FDA regulation is driven by corporate lobbying and justified on the right as reducing regulation.

    Andrew Wakefield is the doctor that made the MMR vaccine/autism connection. This was a big hit with the anti-corporatist left and spawned a movement. Turns out that Wakefield committed ethical violations that make the worst corporate behavior look clean and had his medical license lifted. He probably still makes money on the antivax lecture circuit.

    So maybe alternative medicine is the worst of both the left and right.

Comments are closed.