Already My Favorite Student

My American Government class meets two days a week, Tuesday and Thursday. Wednesday evening I received the following email (slightly paraphrased).

Dr. Hanley, I just added your class. I’ll be missing tomorrow’s class for a team scrimmage.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Already My Favorite Student

  1. Ah, the priorities of elitists. What really counts is learning how to play the game.

  2. I was a student athlete, and sometimes I had to choose between class and a game or practice. You can always have someone videotape class, copy a friend’s notes afterwards, read the chapter extra carefully to catch up, go to tutorials or office hours to make up the work, etc. There is no way to make up a sports practice or game, so I found myself choosing to go to sports instead of class, even though I considered academics far more important for my future, and I obviously did not become a professional athlete.

  3. Lance says:

    I have yet to pass a student athlete with a grade higher than “C”.

    I understand that their commitment to practice and competition in their sport can interfere with their studies but so did my chasing co-eds and getting wasted.

    I took my lumps gradewise and never appealed to my professors for leniency due to my other “pursuits”. Student athletes are less reserved in requesting exceptional treatment.

    I think that the skill set I acquired during my “extra-curricular” activities benefited me far more than a letter in sculling or a “friendship games” medal in softball.

  4. James K says:

    Um, what’s a scrimmage?

  5. James K says:

    Right, I think we just call that a friendly game down here. But then we don’t actually have sports teams at university down here.

  6. James Hanley says:

    No, not the same as a friendly. A friendly is between two different teams, but in a match that doesn’t count in any standings. A scrimmage is an intra-team game. It’s a way of moving beyond regular practices to simulating a real game in preparation for the first real game.

  7. James K says:

    Oh, so its a practice match.

  8. James Hanley says:

    Ummm….sure. But I don’t understand why you Kiwis can’t stop messing with the English language.

  9. James K says:

    You guys start adding the letter u back into your language, and get your e and r the right way round and we’ll talk.

Comments are closed.