Libertarian Utopia

This is funny (of course it is, it’s from The Onion).

Peter Thiel, the founder of PayPal and an early investor in Facebook, is putting $1.25 million of his own money toward the creation of artificial libertarian island-nations. Here are some of the features the islands will include:

  • Large monument paying tribute to Bob Barr and his heroic 0.4 percent of the popular vote in the 2008 presidential election
  • Annual contest to see which island-dweller can best hijack a normal conversation with a tirade about the corrupt U.S. tax code
  • Huge pile of free guns right in the middle of each island
  • Canning operation free from restrictive boiling and acidity-regulation rules
  • Penn and Teller, every Thursday night
  • Large ceremonial nonfunctioning national debt clock that just reads “0”
  • A swimmin’ hole
  • Emergency blue-light phones that connect directly to the Cato Institute
  • A bunch of Republicans anyway
  • Occasional arbitrary tax on the population just to give them something to get riled up about, which, for many libertarians, is their sole reason for existing.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Analyzing Libertarianism. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Libertarian Utopia

  1. I know these libertarians supposedly exist, but I have yet to meet any.

  2. AMW says:

    Penn and Teller every Thursday? Where do I sign up?!

  3. James Hanley says:

    No, no, no, they won’t be doing magic. They’ll just be talking. (Well, ate least Penn will be.)

  4. ppnl says:

    While the feature are a joke the donation is real and the libertarian movement to build artificial islands is pretty old. If you have played Bioshock you have seen one view of how such an experiment will likely end. I was really never able to finish bioshock. I dunno I just kinda got bored with it.

  5. Matty says:

    Does Teller keep quiet because he’s secretly an old school Stalinist?

  6. James K says:

    ppnl:
    I’m generally hesitant to generalise from fictional evidence. Fiction is a really bad way to explore politics because the author can set the rules, you just end up begging the question.

    Though I doubt seastedding will get very far. I honestly can’t see the US government tolerating a new country just outside its border, and we all know what the US government does to things it doesn’t like.

  7. Lance says:

    Fabulous.

    Where do I apply for citizenship.

    Oh, can I use one of the fire arms from the “big pile of guns” to shoot Bob Barr and riddle his monument with lead? ( Phoniest libertarian ever.)

    Also, can I write my own prescription for Oxycontin?

    I hear it’s pretty damn good stuff.

  8. ppnl says:

    I’m generally hesitant to generalise from fictional evidence.

    I OTOH wouldn’t hesitate the least bit in rejecting fictional evidence. :)

    A work of fiction may be a good description of a point of view but it isn’t evidence of anything. In the case of Bioshock it really isn’t even that which may be why I got bored with it. Really I only mentioned it as a point of interest.

    America has a long history of groups trying to separate themselves to found a utopian society. In fact some of the early American colonies were exactly such attempts at utopia. Some of them were interesting experiments even as they failed. And then there was Jones Town.

  9. ppnl says:

    As a point of interest I ran across this today:

    http://www.davidbrin.blogspot.com/

    Apparently seastedding is all about getting in on the ground floor of the coming world government.

Comments are closed.