R.I.P. Dan Wheldon

Indy car racer Dan Wheldon was killed today in one of the ugliest accidents in racing history. He was just 33 years old. This was the last race of the season, but, ironically, it was only his third race, as he had been unable to find a regular ride. One of his only two other races was in the Indy 500–which he won for the second time.

Our hearts go out to his family.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R.I.P. Dan Wheldon

  1. Lance says:

    Truly sad.

    Big news here in Indy of course. I don’t follow the sport much since the CART dust up pretty much wrecked the 500. Also the lack of diversity of racing machines removed what little interest I had left. Watching nearly identical cars with nearly identical engines go in circles for three hours doesn’t cut it for me even if it does keep them more tightly bunched.

    Coincidentally the last time I went to the track, related to the race anyway, was the day that Scott Brayton died during practice after already qualifying for the pole, May 17th, 1996.

    I was walking through the infield, near turn two, with a friend that had never been to the track when I heard skidding and a horrific THUD. I turned to my friend and said, “Man, that sounded like a bad one.” It was.

    A few minutes later the Life Line helicopter arrived from Methodist Hospital and carried him off.

    Still, auto racing has claimed relatively few drivers in the last twenty years, at least compared to it’s
    deadly past.

    I’m sure this is of no comfort to his young wife and two kids.

Comments are closed.