Rick Perry: Iowa TV Ad

A friend of mine from Iowa tipped me off to this revolting Rick Perry ad that is running in Iowa.

Remember that in the Iowa caucus, it’s all about turnout. Perry’s trying to stoke up the religious right turnout to give him a strong showing on January 3. My friend says this ad is running almost non-stop, even pre-empting national network ads on local TV (which is a lot more expensive than just buying local ad time). Perry’s funding has reportedly dried up, and my take is that he’s risking everything left on making a splash in the caucus. It’s rational–fail there and he gets no more funding anyway; do well and money starts flowing to him again.

Of course he’s battling Rick Santorum for the pearl-clutchers’ vote, but Santorum’s probably banging his head against the wall now, asking himself why he didn’t run an openly bigoted ad targeting the minority of Iowa Republicans who still are wearing sack-cloth and ashes and begging God not to smite them down because the homos are putting rings on each others’ fingers. This New York Times poll (p. 16) shows that 58% of likely caucus goers think gays should be allowed to marry or have civil unions. Only 38% oppose any legal recognition. That’s not 38% of the state, just 38% of likely Republican caucus-goers. But if Perry can get just 20% in the caucus, he’s a big winner.

It’s not surprising we’d get an ad like that from a southern conservative. We’ve seen this film before.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Politics in General. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rick Perry: Iowa TV Ad

  1. I guess I haven’t been paying much attention. Did Santorum go back into the race?

  2. Matty says:

    Wait, children are not allowed to openly celebrate Christmas?
    Is this another winterval?

  3. Pierre Corneille says:

    my bad….I was thinking of Pawlenty.

  4. James Hanley says:

    “Winterval.”

    I had no idea Britain had it’s very own war-on-Christmas. Good for them; I didn’t like the U.S. being alone in this insanity.

  5. Matty says:

    Now this is good, take another look at that jacket.

  6. Matty says:

    As for winterval there is nothing so stupid the Daily Mail, or as I like to call it ‘the paper fascists read’, won’t print it.

  7. James Hanley says:

    Matty,

    The “Brokeback Mountain Jacket” meme is going full-tilt now, but the truth is that Carhartt’s jackets are standard rural wear in the U.S. Not only is it a good item to wear in an appeal to rural Iowans, I’d wager Perry–as a former farmer–has had Carhartt’s jackets and pants in his wardrobe for most of his life. (I’ve been within a whisker of buying one myself many times in recent years because they’re really really durable, but I rarely wear a heavy coat so my current winter coat hasn’t had a chance to wear out.) So as much as the snickering amuses me, given the content of Perry’s ad, I find it difficult to see, unless we want to pretend a huge proportion of America’s rural population are repressed homosexuals.

  8. Lance says:

    I love how these douche bag evangelicals turn prohibition of state forced prayer in public school into prohibition of prayer in school.

    So these dullards think that if the school doesn’t force every kid to pray and observe a Christian religious holiday they are being deprived of their religious liberty.

    And how the fuck is Obama responsible for this imaginary tyranny?

    Sometimes I wish there would be a round-robin single elimination religious war between Muslims, Christians, Jews etc. At least at the end there would only be one vastly diminished religious group remaining and the non-theist majority could keep these loons an ever shrinking minority.

  9. Lance says:

    Screw Winterval, I say the godless feds should impose Fesitivus on the rest of us.

    Bring on the Feats of Strength and the Airing of the Grievances.

    “I got a lot of problems with you people!”

    Now I just have to get the aluminum pole out of the crawl space.

  10. Matty says:

    Say what you like heathen, I will be keeping a traditional Hogswatch

  11. Matty says:

    dere hogfather, for hogswatch i want the ability to use tags properly, only the I was meant to be in italics for emphasis.

Comments are closed.