Yes, I Have a Question

What the fuck!?

Who, exactly, does Herman Cain think his target audience is? Adolescent males who are going to grow up to be rapists and murderers?

***
FYI, for those who wonder why I h’ain’t been posting much lately. Work’s a little bit busy and I’m in rehearsals for a play right now. It doesn’t leave much time for thinking about writing a real post.

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in The Democratic Process. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yes, I Have a Question

  1. Peregrin says:

    Remember when Mike Gravel’s commercials were weird?

  2. Troublesome Frog says:

    Halfway through his campaign, I was pretty well convinced that Herman Cain was actually just some sort of Andy Kauffman or Sacha Baron Cohen style performance artist who was pulling our legs. Bailing out with a quote from Pokemon didn’t do much to dispel that. This isn’t helping either.

  3. Lance says:

    Herman Cain is the Yogi Berra of presidential politics.

    “How do you say ‘delicious’ in Cuban?” – Cain

    “He hits from both sides of the plate. He’s amphibious.” -Yogi

    Given the choice I’d vote for Yogi.

  4. michaeldrew says:

    What’s the play?

  5. James Hanley says:

    The play is “The Cotton Patch Gospel.” It’s the gospel of Matthew, but set in Georgia. I’d never heard of it before, but it’s quite good–it has a kind of cheeky humor throughout, but with some really emotionally compelling scenes, too. The scary part is that I have to sing, which I’ve never done on stage before.

  6. pierrecorneille says:

    If I had to sing. For an audience. I would be politely asked to leave. And if I didn’t leave. The next request for my departure would be less polite.

  7. Lance says:

    James Hanley,

    The scary part is that I have to sing

    It could be scarier. You could have to sing naked ( à la Hair)

  8. James Hanley says:

    Lance–I’m pretty sure I could do that, if it was in a big city where I’d be fairly anonymous. But in this small town, I couldn’t.

    Pierre–I have no confidence in my singing, and I’m amazed that I seem to be doing fairly well. I keep expecting to see the music director rolling his eyes or shaking his head when I sing, but so far he hasn’t. God only know if I’ll panic when I know there’s a crowd out there, but fortunately where I’ll be standing I’ll have lights directly in my eyes so I won’t be able to see them. This is causing me a fair amount of stress, though.

  9. pierrecorneille says:

    James,

    If I were a better person, I’d spare you the cliche’d advice about imagining the audience in their underwear, and the equally cliche’d joke about how an audience wearing only underwear might be disconcerting to perform before. But I’m not a better person, and I’ve never acted in my life.

  10. James Hanley says:

    That’s ok, Pierre, we know just how good you really aren’t.

  11. pierrecorneille says:

    On a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the lowest, I’m not sure you couldn’t fail to know how bad I wouldn’t be, mutatis mutandis :)

  12. James Hanley says:

    Precisely. Thanks for clarifying that.

Comments are closed.