Learning the Federal Budget Process

I’m writing a chapter for my American Gov’t anti-text on federal budget politics. I know the general outline of congress’s procedure but not enough to write an explanatory chapter, so my research project for the week (or two) is reading up on the federal budget process. This stuff absolutely cannot be read at bedtime unless you have insomnia. It should come with a warning, “Wonks Only Need Apply.”

About J@m3z Aitch

J@m3z Aitch is a two-bit college professor who'd rather be canoeing.
This entry was posted in Politics in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning the Federal Budget Process

  1. pierrecorneille says:

    Ugh…sounds awful. I have a hard enough time reading the chapters of my dissertation draft.

  2. D.A. Ridgely says:

    You might find the GAO’s Principles of Federal Appropriations Law (aka the GAO Red Book) to be a useful reference. Hard though it may be to believe, it’s remarkably intelligible and even occasionally entertaining.

  3. James Hanley says:

    I wasn’t familiar with that. Thanks for the tip.

Comments are closed.