Almost Making a Mockery of Myself

My wife did me the favor of proofreading my syllabus last night, and noticed the really ironic error in this section:

Dr. Hanley will provide necessary html formatting, but will not correct grammar or typos—7our post will be under your name, so make yourself look good by writing well.

How embarrassing would that have been if she hadn’t caught that?

[If you’re wondering about why I’m providing html formatting, it’s because I’m experimenting with having a blog for my American Government class, in which each student has to write one post during the term and all are required to participate in discussion. The first post won’t go up for a couple of weeks, but if you have any interest in seeing what they write, the blog is at https://acpsci101.wordpress.com]

[P.S., I have a very long post coming soon about the tensions between the liberal arts ideal and the increasing emphasis on pre-professional education. Stay tuned.]

About James Hanley

James Hanley is Associate Professor of Political Science at Adrian College and a Fellow of the Institute for Social Policy and Understanding. The views expressed here do not reflect the views of either organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Almost Making a Mockery of Myself

  1. Pinky says:

    I would like toi see some quality reasoning on the value and purposes of discussion. How does it give support to individual and group development?

  2. James Hanley says:

    That’s a good question, and my answer grew so long that I’m going to put it in its own post. Up soon.

  3. Pingback: The Value and Purpose of Discussion | The Bawdy House Provisions

  4. AMW says:

    Can we comment on their posts?

  5. James Hanley says:

    Yes, although I intend to enforce a commenting policy vigorously. Not that I anticipate you falling afoul of it.

  6. Dr X says:

    “I intend to enforce a commenting policy vigorously.”

    You’re such a tyrant ;)

  7. James Hanley says:

    I always tell my students that I’m the tyrant of the classroom. If I ever show up after the listed start time and a student tells me I’m late, I tell them that I can’t be late: since I make the rules I can’t be bound by the rules. A little theoretical concept for them to chew on.

  8. Lancifer says:

    But can you make a rock heavy enough that you can’t lift it?

  9. James K says:

    A Professor is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he means to!

  10. James Hanley says:

    Except for that time on the Monday after spring break when I thought my class started an hour later than it actually did….

Comments are closed.