Political Truth of the Day

“I found it easier to make cuts with welfare and healthcare because we have been fortunate enough to never have had to struggle with either one of these.”

I have my students do an online budget simulator, and write a couple of pages on their process and choices. I don’t quote this to mock the student, but because it so perfectly encapsulates one of the most fundamental elements of budget politics.

About James Hanley

James Hanley is Associate Professor of Political Science at Adrian College and a Fellow of the Institute for Social Policy and Understanding. The views expressed here do not reflect the views of either organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Political Truth of the Day

  1. That’s awesome.

    I remember doing a simulator like that back when the fan was covered with slightly more shit. Corn subsidies and DHS felt my axe. And I even increased spending in health care and education all while keeping us in the black!

  2. James Hanley says:

    I’d love the opportunity to take an axe to DHS, even if only in a simulation.

Comments are closed.