QWOP!

This very simple game is maddening. Let me know how you do.

About James Hanley

James Hanley is Associate Professor of Political Science at Adrian College and a Fellow of the Institute for Social Policy and Understanding. The views expressed here do not reflect the views of either organization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to QWOP!

  1. pierrecorneille says:

    I didn’t…..do to well. -1.1 meters.

  2. Matty says:

    I can get to 1.3 but only by falling flat on my face

  3. Dr X says:

    1.4 meters, first try with random rapid tapping. Nothing after that.

  4. Matty says:

    I got to 3.5 metres, the trick seems to be to type in order Q W O P as fast as you can and the figure kind of slides along on one knee. How you make him actually run I have no idea.

  5. lancifer666 says:

    After about ten minutes of laughing and frustration I got the guy to hop and stumble12.6 meters. I thought I had figured it out, but then I couldn’t get him past 3.3 meters after that.

    It makes you appreciate just how efficient your brain is at coordinating your muscles.

  6. AMW says:

    I got 6 meters on my best attempt. For me, alternating between the key combos W,O and Q,P seemed to work best.

  7. Troublesome Frog says:

    It makes you appreciate just how efficient your brain is at coordinating your muscles.

    Totally. Human-like bipedal motion is a nasty control systems problem. It’s amazing that we do it so well.

    My wife got me into yoga classes a few months ago and I’ve been spending a lot of time marveling at exactly how much is involved in something as simple as balancing on one foot.

  8. James Hanley says:

    I made it about as far as Dr. x. My daughters have outdone us all, but still their figures aren’t moving in a way recognizable as “running.”

  9. lancifer666 says:

    Yeah, the one time I made it 12.6 meters I kind’a scootched along trying to keep the center of gravity above both feet. It was nothing approximating running or even walking.

  10. Martin says:

    Amazing, amazing QWOP cosplay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfHCUM_OBCc

  11. James Hanley says:

    That is so awesome. Thanks for sharing that, Martin.

    And now I’ve learned a new word, “cosplay.”

  12. lancifer666 says:

    That was great. And the way he moved (the first time not the second time where he ended up on his head) is just the way the QWOP guy moved when I made it my record 12,6 meters.

    Not exactly smooth running or even walking.

  13. lancifer666 says:

    Here’s a “QWOP tutorial” I found on you tube.

    This explains in great detail how to first “march” and then “run”. The narrator says it took him a week of marching before he could run. Seems like a lot of time investment for not much return to me, but to each his own.

Comments are closed.