Street Photography 1: Studying

Inspired (at least for the moment) to do some street photography using my clock with the built-in phone. This is in our student center, through the second floor railing, while I waited for a meeting.image

About James Hanley

James Hanley is Associate Professor of Political Science at Adrian College and a Fellow of the Institute for Social Policy and Understanding. The views expressed here do not reflect the views of either organization.
This entry was posted in Street Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Street Photography 1: Studying

  1. AMW says:

    Looks like studying is about as popular at Adrian as it is at Chapman.

  2. lancifer666 says:

    Is this a photo of the Adrian College Correctional Facility? That “railing” looks like it is designed to keep people in rather than from falling over.

  3. Dr X says:

    Nice shot, James! I’m a street photography addict and a novice street photographer. I hope to see more, if you’re inclined to shoot and share.

  4. J@m3z Aitch says:

    Lance–I shot it through the wires because I liked the way the different squares enhanced the sense of separation/isolation of the students, and the impression of being caged or jailed. Because haven’t we all felt that way sometimes when we were studying?

    Dr. X–I like street photography, too, and I’m not averse to sharing. I just–as with all things–run through cycling periods of interest and abandonment of interest. But since I usually have my ICamera….er…,IPhone with me, I really should do more. I know a pro photogographer who’s been doing a series of street photos with his cell phone camera. Knowing a real photographer is doing that makes me feel a little less of a hack doing do. (Of course he’s always got his professional quality camera on and, too.). What kind of equipment do you use?

  5. Dr X says:

    Just using a sony point and shoot for now, occasionally use ICamera ;). Nothing wrong with that. You can still get some very good shots that way. I’ve been looking to upgrade for a couple of months and have a few possibilities in mind. There are some great cameras that are well suited for street photography–lightweight, crisp images, wide shots, beautiful tones in black and white, which is what I favor for street photos of people.

  6. J@m3z Aitch says:

    I like black and white, too. I just downloaded Snapseed for my IPhone/ICamera/IMap/ITexter/ICalculator/INotepad/IGameSystem, which allows me to manipulate photos, including changing them to black and white and adjusting the tones. Now I just have to learn how to use it well.

Comments are closed.